The Great Dead Horse Parable

 

The dead horse lay quite still in the gutter.

“I am an actor,” he said.

“That’s hard to believe,” I told him.

“You lose,” he replied.

“Lose what?” I asked.

He yawned. “You are lost,” he said.

The sun was about to set.

“You can lead a horse to slaughter, but you can’t make him think,” he mused.

“That’s a misquotation,” I said.

“You are nowhere,” he said, and then he added, “Oh my God, my God, here come the flies!”

“I don’t see any flies,” I said.

“Quite possibly,” he replied. “I am an actor.”

I shook my head. “I can’t believe everything I see,” I said, and started to walk away.

But the horse, turning his head, said quite calmly, “You think you have problems. I can’t see everything I believe.”

By Bill Claflin (from Messages from the Message)

Leave a Reply

